Fucking Ads by Google

So I was browsing the Trans Group Blog when I found an entirely disturbing ad. It was for some website (www.ladyboykisses.com) and read “Dating with ladyboys” and had a picture of what I assume was a trans woman. How fucking inappropriate is that? Sure sites like that wouldn’t exist without willing “ladyboys” to take part, but it clearly just adds to the problem of sexualizing trans people. Too often we are seen as some sort of freaky fetish or fetishists ourselves. We are often defined as “pre-op” or “post-op” as if having a vagina is what being a trans woman is all about. I really wish that trans women would stop seeing themselves as some sort of fetish and stop supporting sites like this. (In all fairness, I haven’t visited the site so it could be really trans friendly, but I’m guessing that anyone who calls trans women “LADYBOYS” isn’t too concerned about transsexual rights or happiness.) Also, I really hope that predators aren’t using sites like this to abuse innocent trans women. On the one hand, I don’t want to impede anyone’s freedom and prevent consenting adults from doing whatever it is they want to do. But on the other, I think that if anyone gets hurt freedom goes out the door. They probably don’t even have any way of screening their clientele to weed out the predators.

Leave a Reply

