My thoughts on the Unibomber’s manifesto

So my friend recently read the Unibomber’s manifesto and we had a nice little chat about it. I first read this manifesto about a year ago and I was surprised by how much I agree with this right-wing “quack.” In fact, I initially thought of partially plagiarizing it and replacing all the hatred for the left with hatred for the right. I’m not a Barack Obama leftist, I’m a radical anarcho-syndicalist, which is as far left as you can go.  The Unibomber defines the left essentially as political correctness, though. By his definition I’m a leftist for my radical feminist and queer views (in case you’re wondering how radical my feminist views are, let’s just say that I Blame the Patriarchy is my Bible). I feel that his hatred for the left is a little misplaced, and he was probably just brainwashed by the radical right. A lot of his views seem to be traditionally (radical) leftist ideas.

In any case, if you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it. Among my favorite arguments is that about 95% of the general population are sheep who will blindly follow the status quo. Therefore, any true revolution would only concern the elite 5%, and whoever comes out on top of that group will see most of the population fall in line.

Leave a Reply

