A brief pause on the Bible thing

I have come upon a dilemma in my Bible reading. The only version I have is one my mom gave me which is translated into contemporary language, obviously aimed at hip teenagers. I get the feeling that the translator took liberties in his task. Therefore, I’ve decided to track down a copy of the Vulgate and translate it for myself from the Latin. I feel this will give me the most accurate possible reading of the book. I am very well versed in Latin, so I don’t think it should be so hard. The only hard part is finding a copy of a Latin Bible.

3 Comments

  1. naikuu said,

    January 17, 2010 at 18:38

    the original text was in hebrew and greek and aramaic though, not latin
    you’d be translating a translation… the translators of modern english translations didn’t do it from the vulgate.

    check out the english standard version. it stays very literal to the original text, but in an educated level of english, without paraphrases or many dated statements like, idk, some sort of “Xtreme faith version” or “the message” or something.


Leave a Reply

